Friday Five – April 15

This blog isn’t just my personal mind dump. Ideally, I’d like to use this space to share what I’m doing at any given time. An idea I’m kicking around is a sort of weekly recap, where I give you 5 things I’ve seen, heard, read, experienced, or thought about. Of course, this does come back to me in the end, in the sense that I actually have to do 5 things each week worth writing about. I call it the Friday Five, a title I am by no means beholden to and will gladly take any suggestions to call it something else. And here we go…

What I’m doing: Starting this blog. Seriously, I spent the last week getting this project off the ground with 4 posts about the NHL playoffs. I’ve also got an About page and a list of favorite quotes, so please go check those out. Starting a blog seemed like a relatively easy task, but I got caught up in it and barely left my apartment this week.

What I’m listening to: Lewis Del Mar – “Malt Liquor”

I had this bit of goodness dropped into my Discover Weekly playlist on Spotify. I recommend the entire EP; it’s like a scuzzed-out Ben Harper after a fifth of Jack, and I mean that as a compliment. If I had known about this when it came out in January, there’s a good chance I wouldn’t have listened to anything else all year.

What I’m reading: Marc and Angel Hack Life. Specifically this post. I usually read everything they write, and find them to have a uniquely inspiring message, if a little bit New-Agey at times. Anyone feeling worn down by life’s daily struggles would do well to give their site a glance. Here is another good example.

What I’m thinking about: The concept of natural talent. I’ve been reading Robert Greene’s Mastery (Amazon link), which discusses at length how many of the great “geniuses” of history weren’t always so highly regarded, and had to put in a lot of hard work to get to the point of being considered a genius. I also caught James Altucher’s podcast with Dr. K Anders Ericsson, whose research is frequently mentioned as being the inspiration behind the “10,000 Hour Rule”–though Ericsson himself didn’t come up with it and seems somewhat against the idea. When is it too late to begin developing a skill you hope to one day master? I think we tend to be limited more by outside forces–our situations and responsibilities–and our own mindset than our capability to learn.

What I’m watching: The NHL playoffs, duh. Let’s go Caps!

Leave a Reply

