Friday Five – May 6

Happy Day After Cinco de Mayo! I wish you a speedy recovery from your tequila hangover. It’s Friday, which means I share 5 things I’ve done, seen, heard, or read in the last week.

What I’m listening to: A lot of ODESZA. The instrumentals from In Return are great for relaxing at the end of the day.

If you have trouble sleeping, try listening to some soothing music before bedtime. I know it works for me.

What I’m drinking: I wandered past White Elephant Coffee Company on one of my daily walks. Something about the place impressed me, or maybe I was just excited to try something new. Either way, I purchased a bag of their decaffeinated coffee (yes, I drink decaf) and I’ve been loving it. If you find yourself craving a cup of joe in Southtown, I recommend a visit to White Elephant. For those who don’t live in San Antonio but are curious, they do ship within the U.S.

What I’m reading: On Writing Well by William Zinsser (Amazon link). A modern guide to non-fiction writing. Hopefully the result will be a more enjoyable reading experience for all of you.

What I’m thinking about: This New York Times article about former contestants on The Biggest Loser gaining weight after the show was shared on my Facebook feed. It made me think of something else I recently read: the Goldilocks principle, which states that success is found within certain margins and not at the extremes. Weight is just one part of overall health, and changing one thing affects everything else. Extreme results come with unintended consequences. There are no hacks or cheats to weight loss, at least not that I’ve found.

What I’m watching: I enjoyed this video on motivation. It’s a popular topic in the psychology books I’ve read. As an adult, losing my sense of play and fun has been a growing concern. I tapped into my inner child and bought a street hockey ball from Toys “R” Us. Anytime I find myself feeling stuck or anxious, I head outside with my stick and ball for 10-15 minutes of stickhandling, passing, shooting, etc. The specific activity doesn’t matter; what’s important is doing something that made you happy as a kid. It’s worked wonders for me.

BONUS! That’s right, you get 7 items this Friday, for the price of 5.

Where I’m going: I’m off to Colorado Springs for a week!

What I’ll be doing there: Mostly working. Also, not updating the blog. I will take my camera with me in an attempt to document my trip in pictures. I’ll post a recap when I return to San Antonio.

Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

