Keys

I am constantly reminded to be grateful for what I’ve been given.

For example, I have been blessed with an extraordinary ability to lock myself out of my apartment.

The first time, at least, it was because the lock on the door to my first apartment broke. Nothing like coming home from a long day at work to find your key spins endlessly around without ever opening the door. Since then, however, I have displayed a talent for leaving my keys in my apartment, walking out, and locking the door behind me.

Believe it or not, locking myself out has been a valuable experience. I met my neighbor and first friend in San Antonio this way. The second time, I learned that I could climb the drain pipes to my second floor balcony, deciding afterward that I should probably keep my back door locked.

And yesterday, after realizing in horror that the door to the apartment I’m renting had shut with the keys inside, I decided that this event had not ruined my day, just slightly altered my plans.

A quick message to my AirBnB host (“HELP!!!”), and I was all set. Except that now I was stuck between the apartment and the front door to the building, which required a key to open, a key that was on the same ring as the apartment key. Since it was mid-day, no other tenants were home–not that I could have explained the situation to anyone in Spanish. I waited by the building door about 45 minutes until someone came in, and suddenly I was free!

Leave a Reply

