Travel

 

I got what I paid for.

I used LC Peru to fly from Cusco to Lima to Trujillo because they offered flights for over $100 less than the competition. But when I arrivedĀ at the airport in Lima, no announcements were made about connecting flights. With less than an hour until my next flight, I was forced to go back through security. I raced through the airport–not even bothering to put my belt back on–and reached my gate in time. Where I was then shuttled back to the same plane I had just left. I even had the same seat.

I booked Spirit Airlines to return to the United States because their fares were less than half what I paid to go from Atlanta to Santiago. But the cost of carrying a bag onto the plane is half the price of the ticket. And Spirit proudly advertises things like having less legroom, not offering drinks, and charging for printing boarding passes at the check-in counter.

Budget usually means sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

