A Case of the Mondays – October 24

I’m out of practice.

Today I re-enter the world of gainful employment. It’s been nine months since I held a job. While unemployment gave me free time beyond my wildest dreams, it wasn’t without cost. For example, simply scheduling my days became a chore–one that I never had to think about when I was being paid to show up to a certain place at a certain time Monday to Friday.

That makes this a very special Case of the Mondays; in which I can actually relate to the people who don’t want to adult today. One thing I learned during my time away from work is to be grateful for every opportunity. I’m excited to contribute something of value again.

It also means my journey through the wilderness is complete. I launched this blog to chronicle my trip to South America. But it became my outlet–my release valve for the thoughts clogging up my brain.

I’m not ready to give up writing just yet. The routine I used in South America was a good one–writing at the end of each day, editing and posting in the morning. I’m trying to organize my life in such a way to stick to that schedule. But this week–in addition to work–includes house hunting, strength training, and adjusting to a new living situation. I’m optimistic I can figure it out. I just need patience. And fortitude.

What I’m listening to: Wolfie’s Just Fine, “It’s a Job”

In addition to being appropriately titled, this is the music project of Jon Lajoie–better known as Taco on The League, or the guy who makes songs like this.

One downside to being out of the country for so long was missing out on the new music releases. I used to pride myself on being ahead of the curve. Now, I’m just finding about songs that came out in March.

What I’m reading: Seneca, On the Shortness of Life (Amazon)

For a long time, I misunderstood Stoicism. I thought it was about never showing emotion, and acting like a stiff robot. Or just letting bad stuff happen by acting like nothing matters. That couldn’t be further from the truth.

Tim Ferriss calls Stoicism an “operating system,” and I rather like that definition. The guiding principle of Stoicism is acceptance of responsibility. That is, I’m responsible for those things that are in my control; fate takes care of the rest. For example, I can’t control if another person is going to cut me off in traffic. But my response is entirely up to me.

Not having a job was an unpleasant situation. But it presented an opportunity to pursue a dream that I had been putting off. A plan which never really made sense, by the way–was I really going to enjoy South America as an old man, with a body worn down by time spent hunched over a desk?

Life is short, Seneca argues. Go out and enjoy it while it’s around.

 

Leave a Reply

