A Case of the Mondays – November 21

I saw a car narrowly avoid getting t-boned this morning.

It happened in the intersection right in front of me. Crossways traffic had a red light. The left turn signal in my direction had just completed a cycle.

For emphasis: the light had been red for so long, the cars turning left had already finished their turns.

So this wasn’t someone trying to beat a yellow. This was a driver who was not following the same rules as everyone else.

My light turned green just as the car entered the intersection. Fortunately for that driver, no one was itching to race off the line.

It took an incredible degree of self-absorption on that driver’s part, I thought to myself, to either not see the red light, or to see it but decide not to follow the rules this time.

And then I realized that was a perfect metaphor for my last week.

I was so wrapped up in my own world that I shut everything else out. Either I couldn’t see the warning lights, or I was ignoring them. I stopped writing. Worse, I stopped sharing.

Because, while this blog is for me, it’s also for everyone else. I don’t think I’m offering earth-shattering insights or life-changing advice. But I am offering my view, and in the words of the hero of Canton–the man they call Jayne–“That’s something.

This will be a slightly quicker Case of the Mondays. Like I said, I didn’t write anything in advance.

What I’m listening to: Hot Sugar, “The Girl Who Stole My Tamagotchi”

I’m a little bit in love with this song at the moment.

What I’m reading: Triggers, by Marshall Goldsmith (Amazon). A book about how the environment–not Mother Nature, but a person’s surroundings–makes it hard for adults to create lasting behavioral changes. Since I’m interested in improving my own habits, this seemed like an obvious choice.

What I’m reading, Part 2: Passion takes on all forms. Ray Lewis was hyper emotional; his pregame dance/speech routine was legendary. Joe Flacco is more like a Stoic; internalizing, always striving to appear calm. I tend to side more with the Flacco/Stoic school of thought, which makes it hard for me to understand Lewis’ approach. Likewise, it appears Lewis doesn’t see any passion in Flacco. But, just as I can appreciate Lewis’s need to psyche himself up, I wouldn’t take Flacco’s outward demeanor as a sign that the fire isn’t burning.

What I’m reading, Part 3: I think Seth Godin is one of the most important thinkers of our time. And I found this piece particularly resonant. Ed Catmull wrote, “Driving the train doesn’t set its course. The real job is laying the track.” Everything starts with the foundation.

Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

